The Choice by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Lancaster County Secrets, book 1
Category: Amish fiction, Christian fiction, romance
Publisher: Revell
Release Date: January 1, 2010
Format: purchased iBook (EPUB) copy
My Rating: 4-Stars


Carol Award Finalist

Lancaster County has always been her home--but where does her heart belong?One moment Carrie Weaver was looking forward to running away with Lancaster Barnstormers pitcher Solomon Riehl--plans that included leaving the Amish community where they grew up. The next moment she was staring into a future as broken as her heart. Now, Carrie is faced with a choice. But will this opportunity be all she hoped? Or will this decision, this moment in time, change her life forever?A tender story of love, forgiveness, and looking below the surface, The Choice uncovers the sweet simplicity of the Amish world--and shows that it's never too late to find your way back to God.


This book was my first "reviewed" book  on Goodreads. I know that it is a truly short review but The Choice was one that I truly enjoyed and so I want to make you aware of it.  All that I wrote was... "Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful!". Well it is...

the Bishop's Family series

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of Anna's Crossing, the Lancaster County Secrets series, the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace and The Heart of the Amish. She is also the coauthor of an Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp.

Suzanne is a

  • Carol Award winner for The Search
  • Carol Award finalist for The Choice
  • Christy Award finalist for The Waiting.

She is also a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. Learn more at Suzanne's website or on Twitter.